World Boxing Super Series Reveals Tournament Seeding

The organizers of the World boxing super series called the seeded boxers in the cruiserweight and super middleweight divisions, which will take park in the draws coming Saturday and will determine opponents from the unseeded opponents.

The seeded boxers are Alexander Usyk, Murat Gassiev, Mairis Briedis and Yunier Dorticos. They will determine their opponents from Dmitry Kudryashov, Marco Huck, Krzysztof Wlodarczyk and Mike Perez.

In the super middleweights division these are George Groves, Callum Smith, winner of the pair Chris Yubank Jr. - Arthur Abraham and Jurgen Brahmer. They will choose a couple from Avni Yildirim, Rob Brant, Jamie Cox or Eric Skoglund.

Organised by Comosa AG, the World Boxing Super Series will kick off in September 2017, featuring the Cruiserweight and Super Middleweight divisions. In each weight class, eight elite boxers will battle it out in a bracket-style elimination tournament, with four quarter-finals (fall 2017), two semi-finals (early 2018) and one final (May 2018). This makes for seven top fights per weight class, and a total of 14 fights in Season One to be staged in premier venues around the globe. The winners of the World Boxing Super Series will rightfully receive The Greatest Prize in Boxing, the Muhammad Ali Trophy.

  • Comments
Show comments